Thanksgiving Week: Ups and Downs

As always, Thanksgiving week had ups and downs.

Monday was great.  My daughter still had school, but I was off, so I wrote about 2700 words.  Then I went to her school and discovered that something was wrong with my foot; every step was painful.

Tuesday I dealt with the pain by walking with a cane all day, which included chaperoning a field trip–a walking field trip–for my daughter’s class.  At the end of the day I sat in my chair and barely rose from it until bedtime.

Wednesday was ok; a day with my daughter is always fun, even with the pain in my foot. Thursday was ok, too.  My in-laws and a friend came for dinner, and it was pleasant.  But that night I came down with a cold.  That was less pleasant.

On Friday the cold was bearable; but made me grumpy as hell all day.  On Saturday it morphed into full-on death plague, and I felt like crap.  On Sunday it got a little better, but still not good.

And today was fine–until my voice cut out in the middle of third period.  Now I’m croaking my way through the day.  Joy.

About Michael Johnston

Father of a third grader, high school English teacher, writer. Forty-three years old and feeling almost every bit of it on some days, and not a bit of it on others. Based in Sacramento, California, USA
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

