Short bits: My dad, my writing

Dad

 

This is my dad, at Yosemite in 1993, about nine months before he died.  Until yesterday, the only pictures I’d ever seen of him were childhood photos, and a few pictures where I was 2 and he was 24.  In this photo, he’s 43–a little over a year older than I am now.  He died just a few days after his 44th birthday.  I am deeply indebted to his widow for sending these to me.

I haven’t written much lately, both because I’m generally exhausted from work and childrearing, but also because the video game Skyrim has totally taken over my mind.  I’m seriously loving this game.  I need to get back to writing, but life has been so hectic lately I haven’t wanted to do so.  I’ll get back to it soon.

Even though I haven’t been actually writing, I have been thinking about stories, and my recent discovery I had a brother, and meeting him, have deeply informed my thinking about my fantasy WiP.   I haven’t worked on Warden’s Call in some time, because I wanted to finish Things Fall Apart: The Remembrance War I (I know, the title will almost certainly have to change), so it’s just two or three (somewhat long) chapters, which is a good thing, because meeting Jason has inspired some pretty hefty changes to the story, including a rewrite of some backstory and one character possibly changing drastically.  I’ve also been jotting down short story ideas.

Back to the day job…

 

About Michael Johnston

Father of a fifth grader, high school English teacher, writer. Forty-six years old and feeling almost every bit of it on some days, and not a bit of it on others. Based in Sacramento, California, USA
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

