On teaching, and writing, and why the one is interfering with the other

Still working on the VP17 submission, though with slightly less enthusiasm once I realized that if accepted, I’ll have to convince the wife it’s worth doing.  But meh.  Cross that road when and if I come to it, not before.

Steven Gould‘s third book in the Jumper universe, Impulse, is out.  It’s on my kindle, but I haven’t yet begun it, mostly because I’m halfway through Gaiman’s American Gods, and loving it.  Why didn’t I read AG before?  I don’t know!

Finals are coming up.  This is scary.  My tests are written, but I am so far behind on grading it’s just sad.  I need to spend most of my time on that right now, which means my own writing isn’t happening.  Sometimes I’m really pissed off that I teach English; why didn’t I choose something with less essay writing at the high school level?  I sometimes long for a desk job.

About Michael Johnston

Father of a fifth grader, high school English teacher, writer. Forty-six years old and feeling almost every bit of it on some days, and not a bit of it on others. Based in Sacramento, California, USA
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

