Late Night Revelations about my work…

Laying in bed, I realized what was missing in my novel–again–and began formulating ways to improve it.  As I fell asleep, my thoughts became my dream, and I experienced a scene that I simply must put in the book–cleaned up, of course; I don’t think the guy doing the pommel horse routine nude needs to be in the book, nor does the Klingon I saw in the background.  But the core of the scene, a discussion between two old friends that devolves–or is that evolves?–into a moment of revelation as to the greater plot even as it ends the friendship forever, is pretty golden.  When I woke up (thanks, cats), I quickly got up and jotted down some notes, then stumbled back into bed.  My notes are a mess, but they point the way.  

AWESOME.  Now I just need to find the time to write it.  

About Michael Johnston

Father of a third grader, high school English teacher, writer. Forty-three years old and feeling almost every bit of it on some days, and not a bit of it on others. Based in Sacramento, California, USA
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Late Night Revelations about my work…

  1. Raven says:

    Quick write it right now! Before it’s gone. I’d leave the Klingon in, for my own amusement. Just describe his features as if he were a human (or whatever is in there)…

Leave a Reply

