Spring Break Day 1

I’m on Spring Break, and I really want to use the time to get a few things accomplished: 

  • Plan lessons for next week and the rest of the year in broad strokes
  • Get some violin practice in
  • Write
The lesson plans are partly done.  The violin?  Practiced, though I have lots more to do this week.  
 
This is not working so well. The writing, that is.  

I sit here and stare at the screen.  I have four chapters left to plot, and I can’t seem to make myself write the story until the whole plot is outlined in broad strokes–without that, I feel bereft of plot and purpose.  I have the feeling that I ought to just suck it up and start writing the second chapter, which is plotted, but I can’t seem to muster up the brain to do it.  

This day is a loss.  

On the plus side, my daughter just informed me, in her sweet four year old way, that she really likes how I look when I’m wearing my reading glasses.  

About Michael Johnston

Father of a third grader, high school English teacher, writer. Forty-three years old and feeling almost every bit of it on some days, and not a bit of it on others. Based in Sacramento, California, USA
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

